Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

newB Questions on syncing Options
dkeys23
Posted: Monday, September 20, 2010 2:44:36 PM
Groups: Member

I am new to a lot of this technology. I just got a Sprint blackberry curve 8530. I work at a company that uses Outlook 2003 with an exchange server, and does not support BES. I have downloaded the free trial of AstraSync and will have no issue with the fee if it does what I need it to do. However, I have a couple of quesitons:

1. During the install, astrasync selected the BIS server. Is that preferred over WAP? Not sure what either of these are, but the wizard showed WAP.

2. My contacts and calendar synced easily. However, it seems I can only sync email with items that happen to be in my network inbox before they move to my computer hard drive inbox. Is there a way to filter that through astrasync before it transfers to my hard drive?

3. If receive an email on my device (happened to be in network inbox), but don't forward or delete, or reply etc until after my exchange server has moved the message to my hard drive inbox, can I still forward, delete, reply, etc?

Any help would be appreciated. I wish I would have known that my company was no longer supporting the blackberry. If I can get this to work, it may be alright.

Thanks.
Daryl
Vicky Cwilewicz
Posted: Tuesday, September 21, 2010 5:39:48 AM
Groups: Administration , AstraSync Staff

dkeys23 wrote:

1. During the install, astrasync selected the BIS server. Is that preferred over WAP? Not sure what either of these are, but the wizard showed WAP.

During installation AstraSync detects what networks are available to use on your device. In your case it saw you had BIS and WAP. BIS is preferred over WAP. If you wish to alter which network you use please go to Options > Network Settings.

dkeys23 wrote: